Back to All Events

Nielsen Symphony No. 3 (solo) | Bromley Symphony Orchestra

Nielsen Symphony No.3
    Soloists Nicola Ihnatowicz and Oskar McCarthy

Vaughan Williams Oboe Concerto
    Soloist Caroline Marwood

Strauss Suite from ‘Der Rosenkavalier’ 

Nielsen’s 3rd Symphony (the ‘Espansiva’) is light and joyous – not ‘typical’ Nielsen at all. Its famous slow movement, which Nielsen himself described as a ‘landscape Andante,’ uses offstage solo voices to marvellous effect.