Back to All Events

Songs and Dances of Death + Retreats and Advances (world premiere) | London Month of the Dead

  • Brompton Cemetery Fulham Road London, England United Kingdom (map)

A Candlelit Concert in Brompton Cemetery

7:30pm | Saturday 22nd October and Sunday 23rd October 2016

Oskar McCarthy and Rob Keeley collaborate to perform a brand new in-the-round staging of Modest Mussorgsky's 'Songs and Dances of Death', with movement direction by Rachel Drazek, alongside three short works for solo piano by Alexander Scriabin and the world premiere of Gramophone Award winning composer Robin Holloway's new trio of songs 'Retreats and Advances' (written to poems by A.S.J Tessimond).


"Retreats and Advances" - music by Robin Holloway, words by A. S. J. Tessimond (world premiere)

1. 'Black Monday Lovesong'
2. 'After attempted escape from Love'
3. 'Two Men in a Dance Hall'

Three works for solo piano - music by Alexander Scriabin

1. Deux poèmes op 32
2. Deux Morceaux op 57: Désir: Caresse dansée
3. Vers la flamme: poème op 72

“Songs and Dances of Death” - music by Modest Mussorgsky, words by Arseny Golenishchev-Kutuzov (English translation by Marion Farquhar)

1. 'Lullaby'
2. 'Serenade'
3. 'Trepak'
4. 'Commander-in-Chief'